Portfolio

artClassMy son is finishing up his first year at ACMA. He is really happy that he was accepted into the school and is enjoying the school. Let me rephrase that: He is enjoying the school as much as a sixth grader who would rather play soccer and video games can like school.

This is an option school with a very limited number of spots for students. When applying, I had worries and doubts if my child did not get in. Would he be devastated? Did I want to set him up for the hurt? I saw other kids cry in previous years when they did not get into their choice of option school. I realized I can’t protect him so much that he can’t grow. Disappointment is part of life, too.

The school accepts a percent through lottery and the others through a second consideration. At ACMA, second consideration is presenting your talent. The year before, we helped a neighbor with their art portfolio. There was a bit of scrambling. I wanted to make sure this didn’t happen with my kid.

I got an artist’s portfolio at Blick’s. I actually bought two; one was a gift for the neighbor. They weren’t full blown portfolios with handles and such, but were more of a presentation binder. I think I got the 11X17 size. I bought them on sale. As my son brought good artwork home, I would put it in the portfolio, so we knew where it was. We saved his classroom art and Art Literacy projects. He also did the afterschool Young Rembrandts program and some classes at My Masterpiece Studio. His favorite art was drawing followed by ceramics. My Masterpiece has a ceramics studio.

When we got the official word that he didn’t get in on the lottery, he put together his portfolio. He photographed his ceramic work and printed the photos at Costco (ok I helped with the printing part!) He then put together his portfolio, starting with his very favorite pieces.

You don’t have to go all out with a presentation binder. Most people had a file folder. Another idea would be a three ring binder and page protectors. If that is too much you could go to Dollar Tree and get a piece of thin posterboard, which folded in half would protect the artwork.

If the artwork is a little thin, you can always get on Pintrerest for some project ideas to be included.

This entry was posted in art, school and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Portfolio

  1. Terri Larson says:

    Hi Leslie,
    I just read your blog about preparing your son for 2nd consideration. I’m helping my daughter do the same with her portfolio. Her emphasis is visual arts. I have heard in the 2nd consideration they make the draw something. Is that your son experience? And what was it?
    Thanks,

    • leslieaross says:

      Hi Terri – Good luck to your daughter on the second consideration! My son did have to draw something. There were several items to choose from. My son chose the cup I believe. I didn’t get to see his drawing. There was an interview – son said they asked about some of the pieces in his portfolio. They also wrote a short essay, I think it was about why they want to attend. I asked my son and he couldn’t remember.

      My son was waitlisted from second consideration, as were a few friends. One got the call after school had started the next year. Don’t give up! Good Luck!

      PS – the school supply list is much more accurate. I did hear that the dance clothing requirement differs by teacher.

Leave a Reply

