End of Summer

Summer is ending. This is not a good year for much in our garden. I will admit I do not feel much motivation to do anything. I also know to give myself at least a year – Dad and Dennis’ death are a lot to go through.
 
What tomatoes survived our deer (who I don’t think survived the summer) are pretty stunted and didn’t produce much fruit. It is also the coldest summer on record here.
 
So I am putting up what we have. We did get a good crop of garlic. I pickled some garlic. When Rich tastes it, I will see about making more. I am looking for a garlic chutney recipe – maybe we can use some of that.
 
So far I have made some jams and jellies. Blackberry, grape, red wine, plum and raspberry. I have also made some of MeeMee’s Plum Conserve. For the nuts, I used some of the sweet and spicy pecans from Trader Joes. It turned out really good.
 
Red Wine Jelly
2 Cups wine
1/4 cup lemon juice
3-1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 pouch liquid fruit pectin
1. Place wine, lemon juice and sugar in a large stainless steel or enamel saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat and boil hard for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stire in pectin.
2. Ladle into hot jars and process for 10 minutes in a boiling water process.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

