Jams and Jellies

Our cherry tree is very productive this year, and the birds seem to have missed it. We got a good harvest, and I started my annual jam and jelly making.
 
I am finding that certain pectins work better with certain fruit. I like MCP for dry pectin and Certo for liquid. I tried Ball dry pectin but I didn’t have luck with it.
 
This is my little cheat sheet for preserving:
 
Blackberry Jelly     6 pints     MCP
Cherry Jam           3 lbs        MCP
Raspberry Jelly     5 pints     Certo (2 packs)
Salsa Jam            16 oz Jar  Certo (2 packs)
Grape Jelly          3 lbs         Certo
Pepper Jelly         1 lb          MCP
 
Major hint – don’t mess with your recipe, don’t half or double. Dont mess with the sugar or subsitute a different pectin in a recipe (follow the recipe in the box.)
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

