Kindergarten

Carl has been in kindergarten for about a month now. The volunteer program is getting started and yes I am a helping mom.
 
Carl rides the bus. I use the time we wait for the bus to review and practice skills. Every day we go over the day of the week and date. We then work on a shape he is having trouble with. Right now we are focusing on the pentagon. We talk about how a pentagon is shaped like a small house or a shed. He also sings a little song:
 
A pentagon has 5
A pentagon has 5
Five sides on a pentagon
A pentagon has 5
 
This is to the tune of Farmer in the Dell.
 
We are also going over 1 and 2 letter words for reading. I couldn’t find a good beginning reader list anywhere in ‘netland. So I made up my own from a scrabble page.
 
Ms Leslie’s First List of Beginning Reader Words:
 
I
a
 
am
an
as
at
ax
be
by
do
go
he
hi
if
in
is
it
me
my
no
of
on
or
ox
so
to
up
us
we
 
Here is the page on which I found the lists:
 
There are more two letter words out there, but these were words that I thought were appropriate.
 
PS – doing another search, I found this list:
(100 Most Frequently Used Words in Books for Beginning Readers)
 
And this cool tool:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

