Cheese

I still love Cheese – even though it is not weight loss friendly. In Weight Watchers they encourage using fat free whenever possible. There are no good fat free cheeses. There are some good low fat cheeses. They work pretty well in cooking: 

Trader Joe’s low fat Irish Cheddar
Trader Joe’s low fat smoked Gouda
Neufchatel or low fat Cream Cheese
 
I have in the past liked the Laughing Cow low fat line, but I recently bought a large container at Costco and they had gone bad long before the expiration date. I saw on the WW boards that other were having this problem too. It will be a while before I will be able to eat their cheese again.
 
The low fat or 2% shredded cheese is also great for cooking. I bought Kraft’s 2% Mexican mix. I love the cheese combination.
 
I also have some favorite cheeses that are not low fat:
Kerrygold Irish cheddar
Cougar Gold
Hickory Farms: Creamy Swiss log and Original Cheese ball
 
I noticed I have been getting a lot of hits from people looking for Chutter. While I was working for Hickory Farms, Chutter was sold exclusively through the Hickory Farms stores. It was made by Herkimer …. They are now called Herkimer Foods. Their website is:
You can order Chutter through their website. They list stores that carry their products also – though they do not say if it is specifically Chutter that is carried.
 
In going through the piles and bags of recipes in my kitchen, I found the old brochure from Hickory Farms and Herkimer with Chutter recipes. I have scanned it and posted it in photos.
  
Cheese balls are not too tough to make. You can mix cream cheese with shredded or crumbled cheese and spices or flavoring. Roll into a ball or log and roll in nuts. I did find a really tasty idea for the nut coating: Trader Joe’s Sweet and Spicy Pecans. They are good.
 
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cheese

  1. snow says:

    Hi, Leslie, i\’ve got some useful information about Cheese, and the way of making different kinds of foods of it, that\’ great. in China, we don\’t eat Cheese of make good use of it quite often, so i just know a little of it before.
    Have a nice day!

  2. Tanya says:

    I miss Trader Joe\’s 😦  Now that we moved back to ND the closest one is in Minneapolis.  So anytime we visit my brother at school we stop there on the way home.  My favorite item there is their yogurt and the vanilla almond clusters granola. 

  3. Tammy says:

    Thanks so much about the chutter. The hickory farms spot in my mall said they couldn’t get it. I read your information and ordered it.

  4. Tracey says:

    Thank you so much for posting this info. about Chutter cheese. When I was growing up my parents would buy a block of Chutter and the Rounds o Rye crackers from Hickory Farms and it was a favorite snack of mine! I’ll have to look for it at the store. Although I do see that it is half off on the herkimer website right now! Now if I could only find those yummy crackers!

  5. Todd says:

    You said

    “In going through the piles and bags of recipes in my kitchen, I found the old brochure from Hickory Farms and Herkimer with Chutter recipes. I have scanned it and posted it in photos.”

    I can not find that photo you posted?
    Can you help me find it?

    Also do you know where one can buy the Bulk Loose Hickorky Farms Beef Jerky that the stores carried in a big glass jar back in the 1980’s?

  6. Tamara says:

    I have looked for that chudder cheese, leek soup recipe for YEARS! When I go to the link above, all I see is skydiving photos. I would love to have the recipe for this holiday season. Please help.

  7. Todd says:

    can you post old Chutter brochure with recipes for the cheese again?

Leave a Reply

