Cooking for Christmas parties

I didn’t bake cookies (except for one batch) or make candy this Christmas season. I did make a few things to take to various parties.
When we did the Christmas cruise, I took Olive Bread, Hummus with baby carrots and baby cucumbers for dipping and a Hickory Farm Creamy Swiss Log with crackers.
 
 
I am always changing my hummus recipe – here is the version I took:
1/4 cup dried garbanzo beans
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 Tablespoon Tahini
6 slices of canned jalapeno
1/2 red pepper, roasted with skin removed
1 large cloves of garlic
6 Calamata Olives
salt
lemon juice
 
Boil beans in water for 2 minutes. Soak beans for 2 hours. Replace water and boil for 1-1/2 hours. Put beans, oil, peppers, tahini, olives and garlic into a food processor. Blend until smooth. Add salt, lemon juice and any other seasonings to taste.
The one batch of cookies I made were my cheating brownies. I made the Pillsbury Brownie Batter – triple chocolate chunk. I frosted them with my chocolate frosting. I used my Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator to make a little star on each brownie and put a half marichino cherry in the star. It looked really cool.
 
 
After Christmas I used the leftover turkey to make stock and soup. To make the broth I used my chicken stock recipe:
http://leslieaross.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!703CE4E2B8C01089!106.entry
changing the butter to a healthy oil of course.
 
The soup is somewhat vague (sorry)
1 onion sauted
2 carrots shredded
1/2 cup brown rice
cut up turkey
leftover gravy
stock from one batch
Saute onion, add stock and brown rice. Boil then simmer for 30 minutes. Add carrots, turkey and gravy, simmer for another 20 minutes. Season to taste.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking for Christmas parties

  1. Tanya says:

    Happy New Year to all of you!  I hope you have a wonderful 2008 🙂

Leave a Reply

