Finding Ramen

My husband and son love Ramen. My husband especially loves a Korean ramen (Nong Shim) that has a kim chee (I may have misspelled) flavor. Carl prefers the milder flavors, i.e. cup of noodles chicken.
 
Unfortunately regular ramen is not very weight loss friendly. Here are some of the nutritional information:
Nong Shim Shrimp: Serving size: 43 g, Servings per container 2,  the following is per serving: cal – 184, fat 6 g, fiber 1 g
Marchuran Instant Lunch Chicken: Serving size: 64 g, Servings per container 1, cal 290, fat 12 g, fiber 2 g
Nissin Cup Noodles: Serving size: Serving size: 64 g, Servings per container 1, cal 300, fat 15 g, fiber 2 g
Nissin Top Ramen: Serving size:42 g, Servings per container 2; the following is per serving: cal 190, fat 7 g, fiber 2 g
Nisson Chow Mein Spicy Chicken: Serving size: 56.7 g, Servings per container 2; the following is per serving: cal 260, fat 11 g, fiber 2 g (note to self, throw out any coupons for this product, do not buy again!)
 
So I started on the search for a low fat, lower calorie ramen.
 
Seaching online, I found one called Dr McDougalls.
http://www.rightfoods.com/scripts/display_product.php?product_id=6106
I have not found it in stores.
 
I then checked the Weight Watchers message board. Lo and behold they are talking about a new Ramen – Choice Ramen. I then start the search. Thanks to other people on the board, I found it at our local Kroger store, Fred Meyer. It is available there in chicken and beef. It comes in the packet like Top Ramen (as opposed to the cup like Cup o Noodles.) It still isn’t listed on the Nissin website.
Here is the NI from the package:
Servings per container – 2
Calories per serving 140
Total Fat per serving 1 g
Dietary Fiber per serving 2 g
 
I prepared the beef as directed, then added a teaspoon of olive oil (I needed to get that second healthy oil in…) The beef flavor was full and smooth. A few days later I tried the chicken – without the oil, and all it tasted of was black pepper. I later tried the chicken with a teaspoon of olive oil – the pepper smoothed out and the chicken flavor was emphasized. So I really recommend adding a teaspoon of olive oil to the full package of Choice Ramen.
 
In the search for this product, I found this site:
http://www.mattfischer.com/ramen/?p=610
It has reviews of new Ramen and recipes.
 
While shopping at Fred Meyer, I found Annie Chun’s Noodle Express. This is a flat bowl with ramen and flavoring. Here is the NI: Servings per container: 2, Calories per serving 160, Total Fat per serving 4 g, Dietary Fiber per serving 1 g
 
The noodles are have a very fresh taste. This one comes with a chow mein sauce. I wasn’t that crazy about the sauce flavor – but according to the website, other flavors are available.
www.anniechun.com
 
While going through the ramen/noodle cups in my pantry, I found that Thai Kitchen’s Noodle Cart line (or at least the ones I have) are of reasonable nutrition. Here is the NI of the two I have:
Roasted Garlic: Servings per container 1, Calories per serving 230, Total Fat per serving 2.5 g, Dietary Fiber per serving 1 g
Pad Thai: Servings per container 1, Calories per serving 250, Total Fat per serving 2 g, Dietary Fiber per serving 2 g
 
I really like the fact that they are one serving per container. Lets face it – who really only eats half a pack or cup of ramen (besides my four year old)? I will be trying these soon (maybe tonight).
Here is the website: http://www.thaikitchen.com/
They list other flavors, but not the nutritional information.
 
There are low fat ramen choices out there!
 
——
 
PS – I did find the Choice Ramen Shrimp flavor at Thriftway. I did not care for the flavor, even adding oil. I will stick with chicken and beef, but I did find another location it is available.
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Ramen, Weight Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Ramen

  1. Leslie says:

    I have since found out that Choice Ramen has been discontinued – so sad…

Leave a Reply

