Pepper Relish

I made and canned some Pepper Relish. I used the recipe:
 
I doubled the recipe and used red bell peppers (about 1-1/2 large) 4 large anaheims, Jalapeños (many), 1 serrano and one habeñero. My friend, Misako, helped me make the relish. We seeded all of the peppers but the serrano. We also wore gloves. It really helped – my hands do not hurt this morning.
 
We canned this using my stepmother’s pressure cooker. I had never used a pressure cooker before and Misako hadn’t used one since she moved to the US (10 plus years). We were reading through the instructions and laughed, remembering a Concordia University classmate (I think his name was Erik) who often refered to us as Laurel and Hardy (not that one of us was fat, but many things we did looked like they could be fiascos). I called my stepmom, she walked us through some of the issues we were having. One jar didn’t seal, plus we had a little left that wouldn’t fit in a full jar. Misako has the unsealed jar and I have the tiny open jar.
 
It turned out so good – I started looking for other pepper relish recipes:
 
Pepper relish and amish recipes
http://www.anniesrecipes.com
 
 
This site includes Nutritional information (very helpful for Weight Watchers)
This is from a woman who has a shop called Ain’t B’s
 
Spicy Texas Cucuzza Pepper Relish
 
This next one I really liked – so I am including the recipe
http://heidi-bees-knees.blogspot.com/2007/10/canning.html
Whitney, here is the recipe for the Harry & David’s Pepper Relish (it’s delicious mixed with cream cheese and served with tortilla chips!)
3 cups tomatoes, skinned, diced and drained
3 cups red peppers, diced
3 1/2 cups sugar
2 T salt
1 small box pectin
1 1/2 cups white vinegar
1 T fresh ground chili paste
2 jalepenos, seeded and diced
2 onions, diced
Mix all ingredients together, except pectin. Bring to a boil. Turn down to low/med heat and simmer for 2 hours until thickened. Whisk in the box of pectin and boil for 1 minute.
 
(I think you can buy the chili paste. I found a recipe here http://www.globalgourmet.com/food/egg/egg1097/chilipaste.html )
 
This one was interesting it uses maple syrup and cardamom
http://solfoodfarm.org/2007/10/09/week-19-sol-food-news/
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pepper Relish

  1. Tanya says:

    Just stopping by to say hello – hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

