Feeling sad

The first day of preschool had me pretty sad – I was really blue for the rest of the day. I was sad because my baby isn’t a baby anymore. I was sad (as I sometimes get) because there were some tiny babies with their mom’s at the preschool (mine would be two months now). I was sad because I missed my grandma – she would have been so happy that my son is going to preschool at her church. I was also sad as I found out an acquaintance in Colorado died – I knew his wife a bit and had met him a few times. He died way too young – 50, and left a little boy not much older than Carl. Rich came home and I did a bit better. Today I am much better.
 
I have had some interesting inquiries pop up in my stats. Sorry the person looking that I haven’t got the Grandma’s plum compote recipe yet – I promise I will type it in next time at mom’s. I hope the scotch-a-roo searcher could read the card. If not, let me know. And for the last Habaneros Jelly inquiry, I will type that in at the end of this entry.
 
I did get a hit from someone looking for passport application tales. So I will tell the story. It was time to renew both passports for the adults in the family. I am going to refer to husband as an adult – though it is in age not always in action (if you need an example look at my story of my picnic basket being smashed at the jazz concert). With a potential business trip for husband coming up, we decided to rush our passports. We also decided to apply for a passport for our son – who took the world’s cutest passport picture.  We didn’t rush his passport, since we weren’t planning on taking his with us this time. The rush fee was worth it for speed – our passports (which we applied for at a later date than sons) arrived very quickly.
 
Our son’s took a bit longer and more time in applying. Both of us had go in to an office to apply. We had to pay a handling fee to this office for taking care of the passport. It took over an hour. Then we waited. It seemed longer since I wrote down the wrong application date on the calendar. The passport arrived about the time they said it would, though I did call (because I thought it was late, but I discovered later it really wasn’t). I was pleasently surprised that I was waited on fairly quickly when I called and the people at the passport office were very friendly and helpful – the media makes it sound like this office is so buried that nothing gets done. Don’t get me wrong – it did take a long time to get son’s passport, but not longer than what they said it would.
 
Funny note on husband’s passport versus mine. I had our old passports out for renewal. I showed my son mine and asked him who it was. He said, "Mommy!" I showed him husband’s old passport and he said "Who’s that, tell me!"
 
Habaneros Jelly
 
1/2 lb Habaneros peppers
4-5 Orange bell pepper
2 cup water
1 cup apple cider vinegar
 
4 cups suger
1 package MCP pectin
 
Stem and cut in half peppers. Discard seeds. Run peppers through the food processor to chop them. Put 2 cups of the chopped peppers into a large sauce pot. Add water and vinegar. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.
 
Pour pepper mixture into a jelly bag, hang it up, letting it drip into a bowl until you have 3 cups of prepared juice.
 
Pour the 3 cups of juice into a large clean saucepot. 
 
Measure the 4 cups of sugar into a separate bowl.
 
Add pectin to the juice in the saucepot. Bring to a rolling boil, stirring constantly. Stir in the sugar quickly. Return to a full rolling boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
 
Remove from heat and skim off foam.
 
Ladle into jars, seal and process. I used a boiling water canner for 5 minutes.
 
This was really hot – I had to mix it with other jellies.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

