Finding Good in My World Right Now

Things are not great in my corner of the world. My Grandma is very sick, my son needs some serious (in my mind) dental work and I am having surgery on my knee.
 
The test results for my grandma are back – she has cancer in her colon and has 6 months to live. This is devastating to all of us. It is so hard to see her so sweet and strong and know what is in store for her. Just thinking about this is painful. All I can do is try to help make her last few months as wonderful as possible. So I am keeping my eyes open for interesting and tasty foods that will work on her clear liquid diet, I bought some jigsaw puzzles she might like and will keep her surrounded by flowers.
 
Carl has gotten sick once again before his scheduled filling appointment. He woke up last night with a barking cough that has me worried. We are going to the pediatrician and have called the dentist. Since he will be anesthetized, he can’t have anything going wrong with his respiration. I wouldn’t be so worried about postponing again, but one of his teeth does not look good.
 
In the midst of all of this, I am scheduled to have surgery on my knee. What has me discouraged is that I am sure I will feel worse after the surgery and it will take a lot of work to feel better. I am still also blue about loosing the baby and my cat dying. I really miss my friends in Colorado…
 
There are a lot of things that suck in my life right now. I am working to look at the good things to keep me going through the bad.
 
Good thing – Rich is doing really well in graduate school. He passed his first comprehensive exam soundly, and is doing well in his classes. Though Carl and I miss him terribly during his crunch time, he makes an effort to put some time in every day with Carl (even if it is playing for 15 minutes in the morning.) He hasn’t forgotten me either.
 
Good thing – I am going through all of this a lot lighter than I was a year ago. Since I lowered my food intake with my lower activity level, I am still loosing a little bit. I will admit I did have a bad food day yesterday (chips and Girl Scout cookies – nothing in moderation.) We will see how badly on my next weigh in. Ok stop that, I don’t want to turn this into a back-handed good thing.
 
Good Thing – Carl is for the most part a healthy kid. I am sure he will lick this quickly and I am going to make sure he is healthy for the next dental appointment even if I have to keep him in the house for a week before hand. He doesn’t have a toothache yet, so that is good too. It is expensive, but we will be able to pay for it (a really good thing).
 
Good Thing – I am here to be with Grandma for these last few months. My son is here too – he is a big joy in her life. My family is rallying too – my Dad and Step mom are there to help (Judi got on her knees and wiped down the #$% white kitchen cupboard doors for me!) They have offered to take Carl and me during the days of my recovery.
 
There is a line from Moonstruck that has been an inspiration:
Cosmo Castorini: A man understands one day that his life is built on nothing, and that’s a bad, crazy day.
Rose: Your life is not built on nothing! Ti amo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Good in My World Right Now

  1. Kim says:

    Leslie (((Hugs))) So sorry to hear about your grandma. I was hoping for better news. Enjoy the time you have left with her.
    You certainly have a lot going on so to focus on the good things is your best bet!!!
    If you need anything, give me a hollar.
    You and your entire family are in my prayers. I know the months ahead are going to be rough!
    Kim

Leave a Reply

