Pierogies in Mushroom Sauce

I made this last night. I hadn’t tried Pierogies before, but had tried dishes that were similiar and liked them. I had heard of them, I received some Mrs. T’s coupons at a National Jaycees convention. I just wasn’t able to find them in the stores in Denver at the time.
 
I recently saw a box of Mrs T’s Pierogies in the freezer section and bought them. I now of course can’t remember in which store I bought them!
 
I baked the Pierogies per the directions on the box and made this mushroom sauce for them:
 
Serves 2
 
6 medium sized mushrooms
2 shallots
4 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chicken broth
1 tablespoon flour
1 tablespoon sherry vinegar
1/8 cup water (guess)
salt
 
Slice mushrooms,  chop shallots and saute in olive oil. Add chicken broth. Mix flour and water in a cup to make a white sauce add to pan. Salt to taste.
 
Points: 2.5 per serving for sauce
 
I found ideas for this sauce on the Mrs. T’s site and 3 Fat Chicks site.
 
 
I looked up information on Pierogies:
 
While on Wikipedia, I thought it would be fun to look up Weight Watchers:
It includes history, the points formula and some links.
This site has a list of Weight Watcher pro and cons:
This site has some analysis of the patented or patent-pending formula:
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pierogies in Mushroom Sauce

  1. Kim says:

    YUM! I love pierogies! I\’ve seen those in my grocery store, I\’ll have to get some and try your recipe. Sounds delish!

  2. Tanya says:

    I love pierogies!  We have them pretty often, but I usually just serve them with a garlic butter or a little sour cream.  I think almost all grocery stores carry the Mrs. T brand of them.  I know I\’ve bought them at Albertson\’s and Fred Meyer.  Trader Joe\’s have some really yummy ones too.  Hope you\’re having a great night!

Leave a Reply

