Cab

My dear cat Cabernet died yesterday. He had been losing weight and wasn’t acting like himself, so I took him into the doctor. He was severly jaudiced and had something really wrong with his liver.  He wasn’t eating, even tuna and wasn’t purring anymore. Sounds silly, but that is what I use to judge a cat’s quality of life.
 
Cab was born August 21, 2001 to my cat, April. He was incredibly shy when he was little, always hiding from visitors. We called him Heidi until we discovered he was a boy. Misako (my old roommate) said he looked like a Maneki cat – a Japanese good luck cat. He was very special. I was the first and last human to hold the sweet boy.
 
Dear Father, hear and bless
The beasts and singing birds,
And guard with tenderness
Small things that have no words.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cab

  1. Kim says:

    Leslie – So sorry to hear about Cab. It sounds like he\’s in a better place now.  still it\’s so hard to lose a pet!

  2. Tanya says:

    I\’m so sorry to hear about your cat – Logan sends Carl a great big hug!!

  3. Mark says:

    So Sorry to hear about Cabbie 😦 I tried to show Fuzzy the picture of Cab but she seemed more interested in pawing at the mouse pointer on the screen! I wonder if she\’d remember her littermates? Probably not…
     
    I see the last few months have been hard for you, when things get like that for me, I stop and remember the Serenity Prayer.
     
    God give me the Serenity to accept things I cannot change.
    Courage to change the things I can.
    and the Wisdom to know the difference.
     
    Hope this helps
     
    Mark 🙂
     

Leave a Reply

