Catch up…

Thought I would try to remember some of the events of the last month.
 
I turned 44 on Oct 25 – it sounds so old! We had dinner with Mom and Grandma at Red Lobster. Mom got me a shredder, Grandma gave me $$. We (hubby and I) agreed that the new TV (replacing JVC) would be my gift.
 
We got a Visio flat screen from Costco – great for a low cost large flat screen tv, but to anyone looking into them I will warn you that the remote is squirrely. I will be changing the channel (and I know I am pressing the right buttons) and another command will activate (power off/switch to DVD/ change mode to widescreen). It is annoying, but we got the TV cheap.
 
We went up to Seattle that weekend for my Uncle’s 60th. He is our bachelor uncle and right now is fighting cancer. We are very worried. We stayed at the Springhill Suites. They were really nice – and close the my other Uncle’s home (where the party was).
 
There was a lot of family there for the party. All my girl cousins were there – one came in from Las Vegas the other from Kansas City. The rest live local. One of my brothers was there and two of my boy cousins. I hadn’t seen the guys in years. I had reprints of some group wedding pictures made. I framed them for my uncle, then had smaller prints made for everyone else that had been there. ]
 
Carl got a chance to play with his little cousin Savannah who is two weeks old than him. She was supposed to be a month younger than him, but she was early and he was late. They had a good time.
 
—-
 
Halloween didn’t really happen in our household. The pumpkins that we went to a patch to buy are still sitting on our back porch uncarved. On Halloween I planned to dress Carl in costume and take him in to visit Rich’s office then go to lunch. No such luck. Carl decided he wanted nothing to do with any of the costumes in the house. So we stayed home. Carl didn’t even want to go to mom’s neighborhood event or trick or treat in our block. Funny Kid.
 
—-
 
Graduate school continues for my husband. It takes a lot of time and we are still working on making sure we get some family time in.
 
We now all have gotten sick. It is a cold. just your typical winter cold. Rich caught it first, then Carl. So we are all snuffly and alternate between feeling better and miserable.
 
We will make it through this, right?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Catch up…

  1. Tanya says:

    Well now that I know the REAL reason you have been absent I guess I can forgive you 😉  hahahaha
     
    I hope you feel better soon!  Or as soon as can be expected!!

  2. Cherissa says:

    Hi Leslie 🙂
     
    I have been keeping quite busy here as well. Happy Birthday to you!! My Mom just had a Birthday in Oct. as well She just turned 45! She had me at a young age lol. 
    I\’m sorry to hear about your Uncle. I hope things start to look good for him. I just found out not too long ago that my Grandpa might have prostate cancer… He goes in after the holidays to see. I hope not. Of course. But I\’m worried.
    Other then that I have been trying to save up for moving to CO. One good thing I am looking forward to! I just love it there!!
    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanks Giving!! I will be thinking of you! 🙂

  3. Tanya says:

    Leslie, I\’m so glad you stopped by!  I am so sorry to hear about what happened though – I hope that you feel better soon.  Your in my thoughts 🙂

  4. Kim says:

    Hi there, it\’s been a while since I\’ve visited! just stopping by to say hi and hope you have happy holidays 🙂
     
    Kim

  5. Cherissa says:

    Hi Sweetie! I have had you in my thoughts… actually thought of you this weekend when I was baking some holiday cookies to pass out to my neighbors (lol something my Grandma always used to do)…  I made a mess of my tiny kitchen there was flower everywhere and not to mention the dough… but the cookies turned out great! My neighbors where so thrilled and thankful! I Love doing that sort of thing!
     
    I too have not been in the mood to write much lately … have been off my blog for so long. Finally posted a new one today.
    How are you??? I hope you and your family are well and in good spirits! Stop by and let me know how things are so I don\’t worry too much! 🙂
     
    Again I am thinking of you and your family! Have a very Merry Christmas!!!
     
    Smile and have a Beautiful day!!
     

Leave a Reply

