Wines this Week

Snoqualmie Vineyards 2001 Cabernet Merlot (70% Cab, 30% Merlot)
One thing we notice here was the initial "nose" improved dramatically as the bottle aired.
 
L’Ecole No. 41 2004 Recess Red (35% Cabernet Sauvignon, 31% Merlot, 25% Syrah, 5% Cabernet Franc, 3% Malbec, 1% Carmenere)
I found Recess Red at New Seasons a couple of weeks ago. We had a friend over, so we opened it. The wine was great – I had a little bit. I will buy this one again.
 
The L’Ecole winery is very special to me. My cousin Lori introduced it to me, it reminds me of the vacations in Seattle staying at her house in Magnolia. It was always a relaxing time. I miss it. When Rich and I got engaged she gave us a bottle of Merlot. We were planning to drink it our first night married at our house, but we had to wait as I was very pregnant at that time. We ended up drinking it our first new years eve married.
 
Rockblock 2004 Syrah Carpenter Hill Vineyard 
This is a great great bottle of wine. We bought this during one of the "wine weekends" in Yamhill County. It was only offered to Case Buyers and their guests.
 
Husband and I found ourselves with an impromptu baby-free dinner on Monday, so I opened this bottle as a treat to ourselves. I had cooked tacos for dinner, very spicy tacos. The big bold fruity flavor worked well with the spicy meal. I think next time I may make a little more elegant dish to accompany the meal, but it was an impromtu baby-free meal (kid fell asleep at Grandmas, she said she would give him dinner).
 
JK Carriere 2004 Provocateur Pinot Noir
We just opened this last night – Rich had a glass with dinner. I am back to being good (trying to make up for last weeks weigh in).
 
I found a cool website in my wine and meal pairing search:
I had never heard of this Public Television show. I will be searching for it now…
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

