Shaking things up a bit

With my frustrating diet plateau, I am trying a few ideas to kick up my weight loss.  I am:
1. Varying what I am eating (more protein one day, more good fats another, more good carbs another)
2. Only eating my daily points (none of my activity points or weekly points) this is tough because I am down to 20 points a day and I did blow this yesterday, eating all my AP and one weekly point
 
Hopefully this will help the weight loss.
 
I have a feeling I am going to have to increase my activities to increase my weight loss. This may include (yuck) formal workout time. This will be in addition to the walking and gardening that I already am doing. But (brightening up) I did sign up for a dance class through our local parks and rec – this would count as a workout. What is the dance class I am taking, you ask? Belly dancing. I will pause until people pick themselves up off the floor from laughing. I will tell more about the class when it starts.
 
Here are some of my recently meals I have been preparing with Weight Watcher points:
 
Zucchini
We have a plant. I pick the zucchinis young while they are still good. One plant still produces more than we need. No one is avoiding us too much yet.
 
Method 1:
Steamed sliced zucchini in the microwave with a little fat free chicken broth and spices:
0 points
So far I have tried the following spice combos:
Curry and cilantro
Dill and Lemon
Herbs de Provence
Olde Westport Sizzling Sunset Cajun Spice Blend
 
Method 2:
Saute 1/2 an onion, 1 clove of pressed garlic in 4 teaspoons of "good" oil.  Add spices. Slice up zucchini and add to pan. Add 1/2 cup of fat free chicken broth to deglase the pan. Reduce the broth to about half.
For the spices I have tried the same as the recipe above plus:
Homemade salsa
Oregano and basil
Plain
 
This is for two servings so it is 2 points per serving (for the oil).
 
——-
 
I have been serving a lot of chicken. I bought a bag of breasts from Costco, so I pull two or more out at a time and cook them up. If I cook more that I know we are going to each, I cook them in a separate pan, plain and then use them the next day to make a meal on the stove top.
 
Here is how I cook the chicken:
 
preheat oven to 350° (F)
combine chicken and 1 cup of fat free chicken broth in a baking pan
bake uncovered for a minimum of 45 minutes (usually I put it in the oven about 5 and take it out whenever Rich is home)
 
I have used some the same spice combinations as the zucchini, though I don’t serve the same spiced dish in the same meal.
 
This week I cooked the chicken with salsa, we had leftovers, so I chopped up the leftovers, sauted them in "good" oil and used them as the meat in Tacos.  I weighed out the "counting" items in my tacos – the oil, meat, cheese and shells. Here was the count:
Chicken 3 oz – 3 points
Oil 2 teaspoons (I used 4 to cook all of the chicken) – 2 points
Shredded Cheddar Cheese 1 oz – 3 points
Taco Shells 2 – 3 points (I use Ortega Yellow Corn Taco Shells, warmed in the oven)
 
Total 11 points
 
I then had some shredded butter lettuce and salsa on the tacos too.
 
The dinner was a bit higher in points price than I usually eat, but I planned for it during the day.
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shaking things up a bit

  1. bridie says:

    Hi there,
    Thankyou for your nice words! I\’m going to have to try some of your recipes i have a jelly belly after having kalani!
    hope your well
    Love bridie
    http://kalanigardiner.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

