My little bit…

I thought I would write a little about what went on in my life space on September 11, 2001.
 
I was working at my desk – as I normally did. A manufacturing tech came to tell me what they heard had happen. I showed them how to open an internet window to get current news.  We were all in shock as we realized the first crash wasn’t an accident.
 
Many went home – I stayed. I was single, and the cats wouldn’t be much support at this time.
 
I found out two coworkers were in Manhattan on business. The people left waited on edge to hear from them – to make sure they were ok. They were.
 
I remember this numbness and anger. I decided that this was not going to shut me or my country down. So I made sure that America was visible in the one way I could: my job. I answered every international product inquiry we had that day. I sent emails and faxes – lots of them – I wanted to make sure that the correspondence were electronically dated September 11. These people were not shutting America down.
 
It took everything out of me to stay and do this. It probably didn’t make a difference in the long run. I thought it was the one thing I could do.
This entry was posted in Citizenship, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My little bit…

  1. Alicia says:

    I think you DID make a difference….and you did what you felt was right and for that I commend you…
     
    Take Care and come back if you like…  🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    It does make a difference….even if you feel it was just yourself – it was enough. Sharing that thought here and letting other people read it – make me proud to be an American 🙂
     
    fTMo2

  3. Tanya says:

    Thanks for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

