Ideas for Using Flaxseed Oil

I bought some flaxseed oil from New Seasons. Since I need 2 teaspoons of good oil a day on the Weight Watchers program and I would like to lower my cholesteral, I thought Flaxseed Oil would help.
 
I bought Spectrum Essentials Flaxseed Oil with lemon. You can’t cook with flaxseed oil, it has a really low smoke point. So it can be used on top of foods. I have used it for the following:
– in Hummus instead of olive oil
– with garbanzos (recipe below)
– With rice; I will make up a flavored rice dish without the butter, serve it on the plate then add one teaspoon of flaxseed oil
 
My garbanzos:
 
1/4 cup dried garbanzos
2 teaspoons flaxseed oil
salt
 
Boil garbanzos for 2 minutes, soak for 2-3 hours until tender. Drain, rinse and dry beans. Place in a bowl, add oil and salt, mix. Let sit in refrigerator for 15 minutes. 
 
Total is 4 Weight Watchers points.
 
I will then eat these plain or in a salad. I like the texture since they are more like a peanut.
 
 
This table has the breakdown of saturated versus monounsaturated versus types of polyunsaturated fats in oils including flaxseed oil.
 
Since gazpacho soup isn’t cooked, maybe Flaxseed Oil might be a good ingredient.
 
Here is a link to the recipe:
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

