gazpacho

Here is my first try at Gazpacho soup.
 
1 bottle Spicy V8 – 46 oz
1 bag tomato sauce
1 can tomato paste – 12oz
2 cup fat free chicken broth (I will probably leave this out next time)
 
cucumber cut into small pieces
yellow bell pepper chopped
chopped carrots
2 cans tomatoes 16 oz ea
chopped onion
chopped swiss chard
chopped zucchini
chopped squash
 
Worchester sauce
coriander
salt
pepper
 
Mix everything together and put in the refrigerator for an our or so. Serve cold.
 
This makes a lot of soup.  I did see that V8 is 1 point per 8 oz – so I am counting 1 point per cup.
 
I made this over at my moms. It was too spicy for mom and grandma. My brother who doesn’t like the items in the soup had to try it in honor of the Red Dwarf episode where it comes out how Rimmer destroyed his career while he was alive.
 
Here is that story:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gazpacho
In the science fiction series Red Dwarf, one character (Arnold Rimmer) recounts a story of humiliation when he, as a young cadet in the Space Corps was invited to sit at the Captain’s table. When his starter, gazpacho soup, arrived, it was stone cold. Thinking this was a mistake, he decided to try and impress the surrounding officers with his assertiveness and when the waiter returned he severely reprimanded him. He continued to mock and insult the waiter, much to everyone’s apparent amusement, until he recieved his piping-hot bowl of gazpacho, as requested. He believed he had made quite on impression on the officers until he later discovered that gazpacho was meant to be served cold, and then realized the officers were not laughing at his witty put-downs, but at his attempts at getting a hot bowl of gazpacho. He firmly believed his career as an officer had ended there and considered the moment to be the most embarrassing of his entire life. This scenario was inspired by a scene the creators of Red Dwarf witnessed while in the boardroom of Thames Television.
 
Here were some of my inspiration sites for making the soup:
Product sites: 
 
Since I really love the series I found the Red Dwarf Quotes:
Rimmer’s last words before his death: Gazpacho soup.
 
Lister: It just seemed like such a strange thing to say. "Gazpacho soup."
Rimmer: Well, I’m sorry I didn’t have time to sit down and bash out a speech in iambic pentameter.
 
Rimmer: I suppose now I’m doomed, I can tell you. Gazpacho soup. It was the greatest night of my life. I’d been invited to the Captain’s Table. I’d only been with the company fourteen years. Six officers and me! They called me "Arnold." We had gazpacho soup for starters. I didn’t know gazpacho soup was meant to be served cold. I called over the chef and I told him to take it away and bring it back hot. He did. The looks on their faces still haunt me today! I thought they were laughing at the chef, when all the time,d they were laughing at me as I ate my piping hot gazpacho soup. I never ate at the Captain’s Table again. That was the end of my career.
Lister: Oh, come on. Anyone could’ve made that mistake.
Rimmer: If only they’d’ve mentioned it in Basic Training! Instead of climbing up and down ropes and crawling on your elbows through tunnels. If only, just once, they’d said, "Gazpacho soup is served cold!" I could’ve been an admiral by now!

Lister: Rimmer, I promise – I swear – I will never, ever mention this conversation again. And when I swear, I mean it.
Rimmer: You promise?
Lister: I promise.
Rimmer: Do you swear absolutely?
Lister: I swear absolutely that I promise that I will never mention gazpacho soup again!
Rimmer: All right. You’re a bit of a slob, Lister, you know, but, when it comes down to it, you keep your word. This time I’m gonna believe you. Let’s go for another drink.
Lister: Souper!

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

