Massaman Curry Style Dish with WW Points

I call this Massaman-style, since I do not use coconut milk and I am sure there are other things missing to make this the official Thai dish. It is a good dish to put a variety of vegetables – I have tried a variety that worked well.
 
I posted this on my blog earlier, but this is my lastest version of the recipe.
 
6 thai peppers 
8 stalks of cilantro 
1teaspoon cumin
1teaspoon ginger
.25 teaspoon tumeric
1 teaspoon  curry
4 c fat free chicken stock
1 onion
4 cloves of garlic
4 leaves of swiss chard
 
1c sliced fresh mushrooms 
10 baby carrots 
1 c broccoli 
4 oz chicken breast cooked, chopped
 
4 tablespoon peanut butter
 
Mix in a stovepot – broth, chopped peppers, herbs and spices. The sequence to add the vegetables and meat depend on how well done you like your vegetables. I add the onion, swiss chard and garlic first and cook them a few minutes. I then add the mushrooms and meat and simmer a few more minutes. I add the broccoli and carrots last as I like them to remain a bit crisp. Stir in the peanut butter and simmer for about 5 minutes.
I serve this over rice.
 
This was about 4 servings – about 3 points a serving.
 
You can saute the onions and garlic before you add them to the dish, just remember to add the appropriate points for the oil.
 
I have also made this dish with other vegetables including potatos and asparagus. I will probably try it with zucchini (we have one plant that will probably feed the cul de sac!)
 
Here is a link to the first posting of this recipe:
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

