A drawback

There is a big drawback to loosing this weight. Some lines on my face are starting to be a bit more prominent. There are only three that I notice – one between my eyes and a laugh line on each eye.
 
I was recently testing a line reducer/moisterizer for a marketing company – only the lines got WORSE that month. I really do not think it was the product, I think it was my weight loss affecting my face.
 
A friend from Denver, Karen, mentioned lines and weight in her blog – and it clicked to what was happening.
It was cool to see that Karen went to Hawaii again. She and I were roommates in Hawaii on my first JCI congress. It is a beautiful state that I want to visit again.
 
So I am trying out different products and combinations to see what will help soften the time and weight loss on my face.
 
This combined with health problems of my parents, grandmother, aunts and uncles makes me think of the Bonnie Raitt song "Nick of Time."
 
A friend of mine she cries at night, and she
Calls me on the phone
Sees babies everywhere she goes and she
Wants one of her own.
She’s waited long enough she says
And still she can’t decide
Pretty soon she’ll have to choose and it tears her up inside…
She’s scared…scared she’ll run out of time.
I see my folks, they’re getting old, I watch their bodies change…
I know they see the same in me, And it makes us both feel strange…
No matter how you tell yourself, It’s what we all go through…
Those lines are pretty hard to take when they’re staring’ back at you.
Scared you’ll run out of time.
When did the choices get so hard?
With so much more at stake.
Life gets mighty precious when there’s less of it to waste.
Scared she’ll run out of time.
Just when I thought I’d had enough
All my tears were shed…
No promise left unbroken,
There were no painful words unsaid.
You came along and showed me
How to leave it all behind….
You opened up my heart again and then much to my surprise
 
 
The big health worries right now are for my uncle who recently had a cancerous tumor removed. It should have been removed a lot sooner, but his GP (I hope he is looking for a new one) insisted his weight loss (over 100 lbs) was due to his mild diabetes.  Yet another doctor that shouldn’t be in the profession. Seeing this uncle sick is so hard – he isn’t that much older than me (he is my Dad’s youngest brother) and is the special uncle to all of us cousins.
 
My aunt (and godmother) just got out of surgery to replace two heart valves. She had to have a second surgury to stop some bleeding – but she is doing ok and starting the recovery process. She has a long way to go.
 
My grandma is now 96 and is really slowing down. She has a problem with her heart that they are treating with medication. She has mostly good days but tires very easily. Her bad days scare us a lot. She doesn’t get out very much – church, hairdresser and doctor are pretty much it. I took the Rose Garden photos for her – she loves flowers so much but it is too much for her to go to the garden anymore. I set the photos up on my moms computer and showed her how to run a slide show so Grandma could look at them. Actually for the most part grandma is very healthy – it is just hard seeing her tire so easy.
 
My mom and dad have both had problems. Mom is getting over a case of shingles. An online friend, Mandy, recently had a bout, so it helped prepare me with patience and understanding (my mom seems to like the attention that illness and injuries bring her). Dad had cancer just before my wedding. He is through with treatments and has been cancer free for a few years – but this was his second bout with cancer – which makes me concerned. Dad too has diabetes and recently started insulin.
 
All of the above people except my grandma are overweight.  I know that the extra weight is a contributing factor to the health problems, so I know I am taking better care of myself. It is hard to see these important people in my life have trouble.
 
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A drawback

  1. Fay says:

    Hey girl, thanks for stopping by and sharing your recipe.  I signed up from my medical terminology class, pre-calc., and Speech…fun times!! :o) I\’ve got a long road ahead of me, but I can do it!!
    I\’m so sorry to hear about your families health problems and will be praying for you!
    You know, you are blessed to have laugh lines, it means you have allowed much joy into your life.  I think they are beautiful and I love them, my dad has MANY!! :o)  I want laugh lines someday to show the world the world my happiness…what I would be sad about are frown lines, so you are way ahead, chica!!  Keep smiling b/c your lines tell a beautiful story!!
     
    Hugs,
    Fay

  2. Jennifer says:

    Wow, is that your little boy?  He\’s a real cutie!  Mine just got his little hand smashed under the chair that my daughter was tilting back on.  As far as the guy at the grocery store yeah, sometimes it is nice to know others still find you attractive, but sometimes it can be annoying too.  Depends what mood you\’re in I guess. 

Leave a Reply

