Calzones 2

I had my first attempt at whole grain calzones. They were pretty good – but I think I can do better. I started with Bob’s Red Mill Ten Grain Bread Mix. I thought I had bought the flour, I need to read labels a little more closely. The bread mix did come with a package of yeast which was handy.
 
 
10 Grain bread mix
6 T flaxseed meal
1 packet yeast (from mix)
1/4 t sugar
1.25 c warm water
1T canola oil
 
Mix yeast, sugar and 1/4 cup of warm water. Allow to sit 15 minutes. Mix in to bread mix. Add remaining water, flaxseed meal and oil. Work the last of the mix in by hand. Knead for 8-10 minutes. Set aside in a greased bowl to rise for 45 minutes. Divide dough into 12 pieces.
 
Roll out in circles. Place sauce, cheese and other filling in the circle. Fold the dough in half. Pinch the edges together. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.
 
Points for the dish will depend on what you put in the calzone. The bread mixture works out to 4 points per calzone. It also has about 1/2 teaspoon of good oil per serving.
 
For filling I used some homemade tomato sauce with basil, oregano and garlic added. I filled them with fat free mozzerella, fat free ricotta and turkey pepperoni.
 
In the future I would like to let the dough raise longer and brush the tops with grapeseed or olive oil.
 
Rich would like me to make his with american cheese and more pepperoni.
 
——-
 
Link to other Calzone recipe
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calzones 2

  1. Fay says:

    Your homemade tomato suace sounds great…want to share?? :o)  I\’m glad things seem to be going good for you!!  I love gardens and the fresh produce they harvest.  All your hard work is paying off and I know how rewarding it is!! 
     
    Hugs,
    Fay

Leave a Reply

