Self forgiveness

In my Weight Watchers journey I have found that self forgiveness was one of my big problems. In reading the Weight Watchers magazine, it appears to be a problem for others also especially in weight loss.
 
I receive a newsletter from a great life coach in Colorado – Carole Billingham. She spoke once at a Jaycee meeting arranged by my friend Kathy Peterson. She had a lot of good information and ideas. Here is her website:
 
The rest of the entry is her newsletter for July 3, 2006. Enjoy and visit her site!
 
 
Years ago, a loving friend said to me, “If you treated your friends like you treat yourself, you wouldn’t have any friends.” 
 
I remember being stunned and shocked in realization that she was indeed correct.  Somewhere along the line, I had become cruel and mean to myself. I had become a relentless taskmaster with no tolerance for anything less than excellence. I had allowed my inner tyrant to take over my life and I had lost sight of who I really was. 
 
The irony was that I had a huge capacity to be kind and loving with everyone else on the planet except myself.  In truth, I would have been ashamed and embarrassed if anyone discovered how brutal I could be, and was, with myself. 
 
I share this with you because I have discovered that most of us have an inner voice or two that if we allow it, can become quite bossy and out of control. Or worse, it can become amplified and can drive out all of the joy in our lives and replace it with FEAR (False Evidence Appearing Real).  Sadly, these voices can be very sneaky and manipulative.  And who better to manipulate you than a part of you? Right?
 
The good news is that by remembering who really is in control of your life (and the voices in your head) you can start to embrace that inner taskmaster, send him/ her love and transform him/her into an ally.  Believe it or not, that inner tyrant really does love you (after all, it’s a part of you).  It has just gotten a bit out of whack on how it communicates its love to you.  By loving rather than judging that part of you, you allow it to become integrated and healed so that the power it possesses can be used for your higher good rather than for self-destruction.
 
I have found there is freedom in being able to move from shame to a place of honesty and in turn community and connection in knowing that we are all in this together.  We all have inner voices that can get us spinning and lost.  In naming, loving, and reclaiming them we can finally be whole–complete and at peace–not to mention the world becomes a much nicer place both inside and out.
 
So, I challenge you this week to look inside and send love, lots of love, to every part of your being. I encourage you to send compassion and forgiveness to where there is judgment and to send joy to where there is rigidity or hardness.  I promise you, you’ll be glad you did.
 
Have a Compassionate week!
 
 Carole
 
 
Quote of the Week:  "If your compassion does not include yourself, it is incomplete."
– Buddha
 
Question:  How might you be more compassionate towards yourself this week? What might happen in doing so?
 
Affirmation:   "As I am more gentle and kind with myself, I feel happy and at peace. In turn my world becomes more happy and peaceful!"
 
Copyright 2006, Carole L. Billingham, MCC  All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self forgiveness

  1. Tanya says:

    That is a great article – everything is so true!  The book I got Logan is called "Who Am I on the Farm?" – it\’s one of those heavy-duty cardboard ones that he can drag around and not wreck.  It also has little plastic eyes on the pages with the animals that he loves.  Have a great 4th of July!!  ~Tanya 

  2. Kim says:

    Great article Leslie and so true! Well I\’ve finally decided to try CORE although I\’ve not publicly announced it on my space. I figure I\’ll work it for the next few days and see how I enjoy it this time around. So far so good. I feel more free not to mention more full! 🙂
     
    Hope you have a Happy 4th 🙂 It\’s looking like mother nature is going to be providing us with some fireworks tonight and tomorrow night.
     
    Kim

  3. Jennifer says:

    I am so beat right now!  I just got back from Illinois; not a planned trip.  We had to leave Tuesday morning because my significant other\’s father passed away.  We just got back a few hours ago.  We weren\’t going to take the kiddos but we did.  It was just a very long trip.  Glad to be home and now I\’m exhausted.  My middle daughter is already out playing as the other two play inside.  All the stress and busyness over the last week though definitely curbed some bad eating habits though!  Just trying to find any plus to the situation, I guess. 
    Have a great holiday! 

Leave a Reply

