Asparagus Recipes

My garden has really started producing asparagus! We have had it twice for dinner and I had it once for lunch. It is so good when it is fresh from the garden.
 
Typically I either steam the asparagus in the microwave for four minutes and then service it with lemon pepper (0 Weight Watchers points), or  I spray the asparagus with olive oil, sprinkle it with salt and grill it (1 Weight Watcher point and 1 good oil.)
 
Last night I tried something a little different
 
3/4 pound of asparagus
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons fresh grated parmesan cheese
salt
 
Heat oven to 400
Place asparagus on a cookie sheet.
Mix oil oil and lemon and drizzle over asparagus, sprinkle with salt.
Cook for 10-12 minutes, till bright green
Sprinkle with parmesan.
 
Serves 2
2 Weight Watchers points per serving
 
——-
 
As usual I looked up a whole bunch of different sites for ideas and information. Here is my list:
 
General Information:
 
Here is the word of the day: dioecious (dye ee shus)
with male and female flowers on different plants: having male and female flowers on different plants of the same species (from Encarta)
 
I guess that explains why I was only getting berries off a few of my asparagus plants.
 
Recipes – many are not Weight Watchers Friendly
 
Over 1800 recipes for Asparagus
(I found this site looking for a recipe called Lemony Herbed Asparagus, which only has points for good oils)
 
Ham/Asparagus bundles – I have made this and it is GOOD, but not realy WW friendly
 
Aimee’s Creamy Aparagus – with Weight Watchers Points
 
Three Fat Chicks on a Diet’s Recipes – not really WW friendly, but the look good and they list the points
 
Simply Recipes – with cheese and lemon zest
 
Kalyn’s Kitchen – with basil vinaigrette
 
Thai Chicken with Asparagus
(I clipped this recipe originally from the Oregonian – it looks good)
 
 
Thoughts about fresh asparagus that I agree with…
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Asparagus Recipes

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love asparagus!  That\’s great that you\’re growing it.  My oldest daughter loves it too.  All the green veggies are my favorites: green beans, brussel sprouts, asparagus, spinach, broccoli, peas, lettuce.  I helped my aunt one summer that I stayed with her in New York plant some of that stuff.  My boyfriend is more of the green thumb.  He\’s grown lettuce and my mom has a tomato garden. 

  2. Brenda says:

    Asparagus has always been one of my favorite veggies.  Thanks for the great recipes!

  3. Leslie says:

    I found some more recipes! Cooks Illustrated had them linked to their free e-newsletter:
     
    http://www.cooksillustrated.com/article.asp?articleid=449&bdc=5388
     
    If the link is gone – let me know…
     
     

Leave a Reply

