Peeps

This Easter my son discovered the sugared confection that we all experience – Peeps. Oh did he love "Bowd Peeps." Bird Peeps. He hasn’t even gotten to his box of bunny peeps. No it isn’t because I ate them all.
 
I will admit I had one, but on a day with scalloped potatoes, I decided to only give up one of my Weight Watchers points for a Peep. Yes each Peep is 1 Weight Watcher point.
 
There is a lot of information and facts out on the web regarding this delicacy.
 
Just Born (the company that makes Peeps) has a fun website, complete with E-cards and a club to join:
 
A white paper was published on Peeps, examining the wonder known as the Peep.
Ok, the background of the paper is yellow. But a "yellow paper" has the connotation of paper training a puppy.
 
In response to laboratory research being practiced on Peeps, a website was launched to protest said research:
Sadly most of these protesting Peeps disappeared – their story on the website.
 
My extended family is full of Peeps connoisseurs. Some prefers the purple chicks, others the white bunnies and others the yellow chicks. My family had a Peeps tasting party the Easter my cousin Lea got married. (She got married the Saturday before Easter, so we were ALL – including cousins – together for the wedding and Easter Sunday.)
 
Aging of Peeps is also a matter of preference too – some like fresh, some liking them open to the air a few hours to one day, and one individual (whose name is David) likes his Peeps aged a minimum of 3 months, so he has Peeps aging in his home year round to be ready for Easter.
 
Peers can be paired with a variety of beverages. I do not recommend a dry wine (eh). However, I think they were best that Easter Sunday after Lea’s wedding with coffee. I do remember we had to do coffee runs that morning as all my grandmother had at that time was an old percolater style coffee pot that none of us knew how to operate, and we weren’t about to wake Grandma to make us coffee.
 
So we now have a small stash of Peeps to tempt me and as treats for my son till the next holiday with Peeps. The other holiday figures are great (especially the Christmas ones for decorating gingerbread houses), but nothing is the same as the little chicks.
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peeps

  1. Brenda says:

    High five to Peeps!  So glad that you were able to enjoy the website, too.  Peeps connoisseurs are my favorite "peeps" of all. 🙂

  2. Cherissa says:

    Hi 🙂 have been so busy with work and the holiday… It sounds like you had a great time! I hope you are doing well!!! Have a BEAUTIFUL day!

Leave a Reply

