Olive Oil Tasting

When I visited my Mom today, I got my Oil book back (The Good Cook’s Book of Oil and Vinegar by Michelle Anna Jordan).
 
We did a comparison tasting of the three different olive oils that she had in the house. Here are the results:
 
Tenuta Colifiorilo Castel Madama – extra virgin olive oil
She bought it at New Seasons. She said it was expensive. I do not think it was worth it, the flavor was bland with a sharp aftertaste of soap
 
 Martubus Kalamata – extra virgin olive oil
This was purchased at Trader Joes and is from Greece. The flavor is very mild, but still has the classic olive oil flavors
 
KirklandTascano November/December 2005 harvest – extra virgin olive oil
This had a sharp flavor, but not unpleasant. There was a hint of green apples in the flavor
 
So the Costco and Trader Joes oil were very good.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Olive Oil Tasting

  1. Tanya says:

    This might sound strange but I hate olives but use olive oil, but I don\’t like the taste of it plain.  The same with tomatoes – can\’t stand them plain but love any sauce made with them, ketchup, and salsa.  I love Trader Joe\’s, when we first moved out here I thought it was a weird store but now I\’ve found that alot of their stuff is cheaper than at a standard grocery store and better for you!!  Can\’t beat that 🙂  Have a great Thursday (it\’s raining up here too!)  ~Tanya

Leave a Reply

