Snow and Mustard Sauce

It is snowing hard now here in Portland. It was a light stuff this morning that I thought would end by now. It is now those big fluffy wet flakes that are tumble down in clumps. Even the roads are starting to get covered with the slushy wet mess.
 
I think I will forgo the trip to Manyas and MeeMees today. Mom’s house is in little valley that ices up the minute the area thinks about anything below 32°F.
 
Since my weigh in is today I am eating light. I steamed a cup of fresh spinach and a cup of fresh broccolli. I was going to add some mushrooms but forgot – oh well it would have made the dish more hearty.
 
I gave my mustard sauce another try. This one had a little too much wine flavor. Is that a bad thing?
 
1 T sweet hot mustard
1 t olive oil
2 oz chardonnay
1/8 c water
1/4 t lemon pepper
juice 1/4 of a small lemon
zest from above lemon
I simmered it for about 5 minutes.  This was for one person. I think the Weight Watchers value is 2 points, one for the wine and one for the oil.
 
Next time i will try equal parts mustard to wine. The rest of the spices seemed really good.
 
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow and Mustard Sauce

  1. Tanya says:

    Sorry to hear about the snow – we woke up to a light dusting up here but it\’s pretty much gone.  There\’s still a chance for more tonight I guess.  I don\’t think I\’ll be leaving the house with Logan since the weather has turned cold again.  Have a great day!  ~Tanya

Leave a Reply

