Old times, More Grandma and my attempt at Thai food

I have been instant messaging an old friend from Colorado, Penni. It is good to talk to one of my friends again. I met Penni through the Junior Chamber – also known as the Jaycees. I belonged to the Boulder Colorado chapter most of my years in Colorado. I met so many people that are so dear to me in the organization. I also grew as a person through the work I did with them.
 
Sigh
 
——-
 
There was another funny story from the Visit with Grandma on Tuesday. I had given Carl a banana to eat at my moms. I sliced it up and put it in a bowl. He dropped one slice. I gave the piece to the dog. Carl started with the "No, Mine." Grandma started laughing then. I then teased her about the "Mine" since she taught him the word (even though we had all agreed not to teach it to him). She of course is the one person who could get away with that faux pas. Anyhow, to calm Carl I took a piece of banana from his bowl without him seeing. I walked over to the dog and blocking the dogs mouth with my back from Carl’s view I said, "Give it back." I then put the banana back in his bowl and Carl was fine. Grandma laughed so hard tears were forming.
 
Today is Carl’s day with Manya and MeeMee (Manya is Grandma in Carlese and MeeMee is GP what we call Grandma).
 
_________
 
Last night I made a Massaman Curry style dish. I didn’t have all of the ingredient to make a true Massaman Curry dish, but I fudged it using the leftover pot roast, peanut sauce and some of the frozen Thai peppers that we grew in our garden.
 
We had leftover beef carrots and onion from the pot roast. I sliced up 3 oz of meat for Rich, added 6 carrots and half an onion (these had already been cooked.) I melted a cup of chicken broth into a pan (since I make mine, I keep it frozen in little container that hold one or two cups.) Once the broth was melted I added the meat, carrots and onions. I also chopped up six thai peppers, pressed a clove of garlic and added them to the pot.  I had some peanut sauce leftovers from a meal at the Cheesecake Factory (num num) so I added that and then an extra spoonful of Spicy Tha Peanut Satay Sauce by Thai Kitchen. I am sure peanut butter would work fine, but we didn’t have any 🙂 I then added curry to taste.
 
3 oz cooked beef
6 cooked carrots
1/2 cooked onion
1 cup chicken broth
1 clove garlic pressed
6 Thai peppers
Peanut sauce (est maybe 4 Tablespoons)
Curry
 
I just heated up my meat carrots and onion with a little olive oil. After I was done, I realized I could have cooked mine the same as Rich’s , just no peanut sauce and would have been fine in my weight loss efforts.
 
I served the meal with white rice. Rich LOVED it. I didn’t have enough white rice (I used leftovers) so he ate the meat with corn chips.
 
Here is the recipe I used as inspiration for the above:
 
Easy Chicken Satay Peanut Curry Recipe #122851
This is a really easy recipe and very tasty. It’s written for a microwave, but ingredients can be easily cooked in a saucepan on the stove. Use light peanut butter for a calorie reduced version and a spray cooking oil rather than the butter.
1  garlic clove 
1  onion 
1  teaspoon butter 
1  chicken fillet 
3  tablespoons peanut butter 
2  teaspoons curry powder 
1  cup chicken stock 
2 servings Change size or US/metric
Change to:  servings US Metric
 
11 minutes 5 mins prep
 
It was from Recipezaar.
 
I realize these aren’t true Massaman curries – here is what Encarta says:
Massaman curry (Thai: kaeng matsaman or gaeng masaman) is a Thai dish that can be made with beef, chicken, or pork. It contains coconut milk, roasted peanuts, potatoes, bay leaves, cardamom pods, cinnamon, palm sugar, fish sauce, and tamarind sauce. It is a Muslim-influenced curry. The dish is served with rice and sometimes pickled ginger or cucumber and peppers soaked in vinegar.
 
This gives me a few more idea, plus I can always search the ‘net for more ideas.
 
——
 
Tonight is Weight Watchers weigh in – wish me luck!
 
_____ 
 
Junior Chamber / Jaycees
 
Recipe and Cooking
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

