Diet day 1

I made it through the first day of my diet. Breakfast was simple. Lunch was tricky. Dinner I really planned.
 
Carl and I went up to my Dad’s house for lunch and a visit. My stepmother was getting lunch together. I told them about my new Weight Watchers endeavour. Both had tried WW a long time ago, they weren’t thrilled with the program but they were supportive of me.
 
Judi made a green salad with roasted chicken – keeping the ingredients separate. The problem I had was figuring out how much was in the servings. I will take my scale next time – they are supportive family so they won’t laugh too hard. They did have some good salsa – a friend had made it and sent it over. I used that instead of salad dressing – no points.
 
For dinner I made a pork dish, brown rice and a green lettuce salad with salsa on top.
 
Pork coq a vin for 2 (Carl got macaroni and cheese)
4 oz leftover pork tenderloin, sliced thin
1 cup raw onion
1 can water-packed mushrooms
4 teaspoons olive oil
4 oz chardonnay (I used Chehalem’s Inox Chardonnay – num num)
 
Saute the onions in the olive oil. Add the mushrooms and chardonnay. Heat through. Add meat – simmer.
 
It was exactly two servings and we put the sauce over the rice, we each ate a half cup.
 
This morning I am getting a treat. Rich with the help of Carl is making fresh squeezed orange juice. Rich received a juicer from my old roommate, Misako several years ago. He loves it and used it a lot when he was single. This is the first time he has used it since we got married. What a treat!
 
——-
 
Today is supposed to be a nice day outside. We are working on the yard – I will clean the front again (more wind!) and Rich is going to haul more bricks for the raised beds.
 
It looks like the only thing that didn’t do well during this last cold snap was one of the fennel and the larger of the two artichoke plants. Oh yes and one shoot of garlic fell over and can’t get up. Mom also mentioned not to give up on the Angel Trumpet – it is deciduous. We will see what happens over the next month or two before I dig the stuff up.
 
—–
 
On a more fun note – two of my girlfriends are back in town. Ina Gebert went to Germany – she left the day we got back from Amsterdam. I met her in college (Lewis and Clark). She along with my friend Colleen Riley were my dearest friends and sanity.
 
Carmen Campbell went to Norway – she has been gone since early January, she is a Fullbright and is working on the big D (dissertation.) She met Rich when they were undergrads at UCCS. We are very proud of her accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

