Syrah and Pork Chops

We recently bought a bottle of Matanzas Creek’s 2001 Syrah. This was the bottle of wine we picked up in the great decanter exchange after Christmas. It was $25 (I think). The wine was very complex with berry flavors and a peppery finish. The color is a very dark red. We really are enjoying it.
 
 
The winery looks like it is an incredible place to bisit with some amazing lavendar gardens.
 
We were going to drink it with Lasagne, which i was making. But I underestimated the baking time – I need to work on my lasagne recipe. So we drank it and ate snack for dinner, will eat the lasagne on Thursday.
The following is Mexican Pork Chops. I received the recipe from another client at my manicurists in Denver. Back in the days I lived in Denver. And got my nails done. I changed it a bit to make it my own.
 
4 pork chops, boneless
oil
 
1 cup rice
1 package of fajita mix
1 can RoTel tomatoes with green chilies
 
shredded cheddar cheese
 
Preheat oven to 350°
 
Brown pork chops in oil.
 
Combine rice, fajita mix, and RoTel in a casserole dish. Add pork chops. Cover and bake. The time is a bit up in the air – one set of my notes says 45 minutes, another is 1-1/2 hours. It has been a while since I have made this, the last time was in Denver. I will have to make it here at sea level to tweek the timing.
Add the shredded cheese to the top and back 5 more minutes.
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Syrah and Pork Chops

  1. Cherissa says:

    Mmmmm wow this one made my mouth water!!! Sound wonderful! I am printing this out as I type and can\’t wait to give it a try! I hope you are doing well!!! Have a BEAUTIFUL day!

Leave a Reply

