Cheese, champagne and Yams

We hit the sales at the mall again yesterday. We stopped by Hickory Farms – with 75% off everything. There were no more of the original or creamy swiss cheeses left. But we picked up two packs on great mark down. They were the "Beef and cheeses" and they other was "Cheese lovers Delight". So we had them for dinner last night. Carl loved the beef stick (our little meat eater). One of the cheeses was a creamy cheese called "Herbs and Spices." I was so happy – it was the Neufchatel that I loved when I worked there! Yeah! It was fun buying the products, it was the first time in years. It brought back fond memories.
 
We had a sparkling wine and a champagne this new years, both were Extra Dry, which is a little sweeter than Brut. I like a sweeter champagne but it is hard to find in the US. The sparkling wine was Italian and on sale for $10. We also picked up a Mumms. It was a few dollars off, but still over $30. I liked the Mumms a lot better. I guess you get what you pay for. Mumms has fond memories for me as I visited the cellars in Reims. Fun trip.
 
Here is the sweetness levels according the That’s the Spirit website:
Brut Nature: Very Dry
Simple Brut: Dry with no sweetness
Extra Dry: Slightly Sweet
Sec: Sweet
Demi Sec: Very Sweet
Doux: Very Very Sweet
 
Here is a recipe from my step-sister Nicole:
 
Golden Yam Mounds
3 regular size Yams
1/2 cup 7-up
1/4 cup butter
dash of cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 slices of pineapple
8 marshmallows
8 walnut halves
 
Peel yams, cut into chunks. Place yams and 7-up in a covered pan and cook until yams are tender.
Mash cooked yams. Add butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt. Beat with whisk until light. Mound on top of pineapple slices. This can be frozen for later use at this point.
 
Place under broiler until mounds start to brown. Top with marshmallow and put under the broiler until marshmallow browns. Top with walnut half.
 
 
 
I will admit I have not made this yet. Since I have only roast yams on the grill my question to my step sis is on the cooking of the yams – do you need to add water too? I will find out.  She made this Thanksgiving 2004, it was delicious.
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

