Step mom’s corn bread

After my interview yesterday I went to my Father and Stepmom’s home to get  my son (they were kind enough to sit) My stepmom made a beef stew and corn bread – from scratch, good comfort food after a stressful day.
 
Here is her cornbread recipe:
 
Judi Ross’ Johnny Cake
 
1 c sugar
2 c flour
1 c cornmeal
3/4 t soda
2 t baking powder
1 t salt
3/4 c oil
2 large eggs
1-1/2 c 2% milk
1/2 c lowfat cottage cheese
 
Mix dry ingredients. Add oil, eggs and cottage cheese. Mix adding in milk. Bake at 350° F for 30 min.
 
It was so good – she sent some home for Rich (six big pieces) and he ate 4 of them that night with a glass of wine (red of course, Glaetzer 2003 Wallace Shiraz Grenache).
 
I was really glad Judi invited me to stay. The drive to the interview was not fun – it was the drippy rain that typifies fall and winter in the Pacific Northwest. The brotherhood of indignant hillbillies, Clark County chapter, were out in full force. It is ironic that drivers are so much mellower in Portland than in rural Clark County.
 
After the interview, it was starting to get dark, I promptly got lost in Woodland.  Fortunately I think most roads eventually lead to I-5. It is a cute town though with some cool things I would like to see more of.
 
It was foggy when I reached the Ridgefield exit. Ok, I-5 was in a clear little corridor with fog on either side. I eventually made it to dad’s after getting lost in this pea soup (I don’t come to his house from the north that often.) I was pretty beat after that. I don’t think I can do that. A long drive time with my son in the car is not quality time.
 
The bummer is that the job is really interesting – in a growing company with some innovative marketing ideas.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Step mom’s corn bread

  1. Jon says:

    Hi Leslie, I will have to give that cornbread recipe a try. Cornbread is one of my favorite things. Hope you get this job thing figured out, i know that commuting can be a real pain, and sure cuts in to family life. Jon

  2. Cherissa says:

    Hello! I wanted to stop by and thank you for your kind words that you gave me on my space…how warming they are especially on a cold frosty day as today! Mmmmm some nice warm Corn Bread sounds very yummy right about now…. I will have to keep this recipe and give it a try one day…. My grandmother used to make some great homemade corn bread we would eat some while it was still hot out of the oven …and we would drizzle a little honey on top…..Please stop by again soon….Take care and have a BEAUTIFUL day!

Leave a Reply

